Double Member Borough

Published in The History of Parliament: the House of Commons 1754-1790, ed. L. Namier, J. Brooke., 1964
Available from Boydell and Brewer

Background Information

Right of Election:

in freeholders and inhabitants paying scot and lot

Number of voters:

about 500


19 Apr. 1754Henry Drax
 Thomas Erle Drax
 John Pitt
 William Augustus Pitt
 Double return. HENRY DRAX and WILLIAM AUGUSTUS PITT declared elected, 30 Dec. 1754.
24 Nov. 1755Edward Drax vice Henry Drax, deceased
27 Mar. 1761Thomas Erle Drax
 John Pitt
18 Mar. 1768Ralph Burton
 Robert Palk
16 Nov. 1768Whitshed Keene vice Burton, deceased
28 Jan. 1774Thomas de Grey vice Keene, appointed to office
8 Oct. 1774William Gerard Hamilton
 Christopher D'Oyly
29 May 1776D'Oyly re-elected after appointment to office
9 Sept. 1780John Boyd
 Thomas Farrer
1 Apr. 1784Thomas Farrer